MIAMI, FL (March 18, 2021) – National YoungArts Foundation (YoungArts) in partnership with Aon announces the premiere of Without Further Delay, a virtual dance performance on April 8, 2021 at 8 pm ET. Choreographed by co-artistic director of Complexions Contemporary Ballet and Tony Award nominee Desmond Richardson (1986 YoungArts Winner in Dance & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) the performance will feature a composition by Grammy Award winner Terence Blanchard (1980 YoungArts Winner in Classical Music) andbrings together nine 2021 YoungArts award winners from across the country. Without Further Delay will investigate the current moment by exploring elements of isolation, confinement, communality, perseverance, and diversity. Following the premiere, Without Further Delay, will be available on the YoungArts YouTube channel.

“YoungArts has consistently been a place where talented like-minded individuals come together to convey their ideas of self-expression within an environment that inspires, challenges and encourages them to shine their radiant light abundantly,” said Desmond Richardson. “This commission underscores YoungArts’ commitment to supporting artists and providing outlets for artistic expression and career growth despite the challenges we all faced this year.”

Without Further Delay features nine 2021 YoungArts award winners in Dance representing a broad range of styles: Shalini Basu, aClassical Indian dancer from Powell, OH; Christian Burse, a contemporary dancer from Dallas, TX; Chelsea Correa, a contemporary dancer from Red Bank, NJ; Brooks Landegger, a ballet dancer from New York, NY; Kelsey Lewis, a contemporary dancer from New York, NY; Courtney McColley, a contemporary dancer from Dallas, TX; Arya Pratap, a Classical Indian dancer from Mountain View, CA; Luc Simpson, a contemporary dancer from San Diego, CA; and Bryant Wright, a Hip Hop dancer from Bel Air, MD.

“Aon is proud to partner with National YoungArts Foundation. As a longstanding supporter of the organization, we celebrate their core values of excellence, collaboration, inclusivity, experimentation, respect and integrity,” said Jason Ott, President of Aon Private Risk Management. “When given the opportunity to support this special dance commission, creative visionary and choreographer Desmond Richardson shared the importance of artists being led by their heart, humanity and passion. With so many artists facing challenging times, having an artistic outlet to show that struggle and ultimate perseverance is of greater importance now more than ever. We are excited to partner and share a message of strength from Desmond and the young performers of the future.”

This dance commission is a part of YoungArts’ commitment to supporting YoungArts award winners at every stage of their careers. Throughout the season, all YoungArts award winners have ongoing opportunities to learn from notable guest artists and to participate in creative and professional development opportunities, as well as conversations and discussions to build community and engage with their peers.

Support for the 2020-21 YoungArts season is provided by Together campaign supporters, including Campaign Chairs Sarah Arison and Thomas Wilhelm, Jay Franke and David Herro, and Michi and Charles Jigarjian and Lead Sponsors Sandra and Tony Tamer. Additional support for National YoungArts Foundation programs is provided by 7G Foundation; Aon; Batchelor Foundation; the State of Florida, Department of State, Division of Cultural Affairs and the Florida Council on Arts and Culture; Funding Arts Network; the City of Miami Beach, Cultural Affairs Program, and the Cultural Arts Council; Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners; Northern Trust; Dr. Sidney Stern in loving memory of Florence Stern; Bruce and Ellie Taub; and Wells Fargo.

About Aon

Aon plc (NYSE: AON) is a leading global professional services firm providing a broad range of risk, retirement and health solutions. Our 50,000 colleagues in 120 countries empower results for clients by using proprietary data and analytics to deliver insights that reduce volatility and improve performance.

About National YoungArts Foundation

National YoungArts Foundation (YoungArts) was established in 1981 by Lin and Ted Arison. YoungArts identifies the most accomplished young artists in the visual, literary and performing arts, and provides them with creative and professional development opportunities throughout their careers. Entrance into this prestigious organization starts with a highly competitive application process for talented artists ages 15–18, or grades 10–12, in the United States, that is judged by esteemed discipline-specific panels of artists through a rigorous blind adjudication process. All YoungArts award winners receive financial awards and the chance to learn from notable artists such as Debbie Allen, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Frank Gehry, Wynton Marsalis, Salman Rushdie and Mickalene Thomas as well as past YoungArts award winners such as Daniel Arsham, Terence Blanchard, Camille A. Brown, Viola Davis, Allegra Goodman, Josh Groban, Judith Hill, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Andrew Rannells, Desmond Richardson and Hunter Schafer. 

YoungArts award winners are further eligible for exclusive opportunities including: nomination as a U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school seniors; a wide range of creative development support including fellowships, residencies and awards; professional development programs offered in partnership with major institutions nationwide; additional financial support; and access to YoungArts Post, a private, online portal for YoungArts artists to connect, share their work and discover new opportunities.

For more information, visit, Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

Download Press Release
Contemporary dancer Christian Burse