Back to Blog
Screenshot from the Dance Commission "Without Further Delay"

Watch: Without Further Delay by Desmond Richardson

By YoungArts | May 28, 2021

Desmond Richardson’s virtual dance performance, Without Further Delay, brought together nine 2021 YoungArts award winners from across the country. Commissioned by YoungArts in partnership with Aon, this performance investigates the current moment by exploring elements of isolation, confinement, communality and perseverance.

Choreographer Richardson has been hailed by The New York Times as among the greatest dancers of his time. He is a 1986 YoungArts award winner, the co-artistic director of Complexions Contemporary Ballet and a Tony Award nominee. The music for Without Further Delay was composed by fellow 1980 award winner and Grammy Award winner Terence Blanchard.

Featuring 2021 YoungArts Winners in Dance Arya Pratap, Brooks Landegger, Bryant Wright, Chelsea Correa, Christian Burse, Courtney McColley, Kelsey Lewis, Luc Simpson and Shalini Basu.

More on the YoungArts Blog: