

## \*\*\*POST EVENT ALERT\*\*\*

## ANNUAL YOUNGARTS MIAMI GALA CELEBRATED EXTRAORDINARY YOUNG ARTISTS NATIONWIDE

## ARTIST DERRICK ADAMS HONORED WITH ARISON AWARD

MULTIDISCIPLINARY ARTIST DIANA EUSEBIO NAMED 2024 YOUNGARTS JORGE M. PÉREZ AWARDEE

Program Directed and Emceed by Tony Award Nominee Daniel J. Watts, With Performances by Notable YoungArts Award Winners



High-Resolution Images for Editorial Use are available HERE

WHAT: On Saturday, January 13, 2024, YoungArts, the national foundation for the advancement of artists, welcomed more than 300 of Miami's top cultural and community leaders, philanthropists, celebrities, and art aficionados to the YoungArts Miami Gala. YoungArts raised nearly \$1.1 million at the organization's annual fundraiser, presented by Marni. The event, which was held at Miami's Faena Forum, honored artist Derrick Adams with the Arison Award and named Diana Eusebio, a Peruvian-Dominican multidisciplinary artist, fashion designer and a 2016 YoungArts award winner in Visual Arts and U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, the winner of the 2024 YoungArts Jorge M. Pérez Award.

The YoungArts Miami Gala was directed and emceed by Tony Award Nominee Daniel J. Watts\*\* and featured a series of interdisciplinary performances by past YoungArts award winners including vocalist and composer Dani Ferreira Amaro\*\*, singer and instrumentalist Tippy Balady\*\*, multidisciplinary artist Mario Layne Fabrizio\*\*, singer/songwriter Justine Garcia\*\*, jazz guitarist and composer Lucas Kadish\*\*, jazz trumpeter Lóren Littlejohn\*\*, multiinstrumentalist Christian McGhee\*\*, poet Carlynn Newhouse\*\*, and multidisciplinary artist Ackeem Salmon\*\*.

The evening included an elegant cocktail reception and seated dinner decorated with florals by acclaimed designer Raúl Àvila.

The evening also celebrated the culmination of the 43<sup>rd</sup> **National YoungArts Week**, which brought 151 YoungArts Award Winners with Distinction, representing the nation's most accomplished young artists in the literary, visual, and performing arts, together in Miami to spend a week developing their craft with internationally recognized leaders in their fields and creating lifelong, interdisciplinary connections with each other.

WHO: The annual Miami Gala was hosted by co-chairs Sarah Arison and Thomas Wilhelm, Jeffrey Davis and Michael Miller, Alberto Ibargüen, and Craig Robins and Jackie Soffer. In addition to the co-chairs, the YoungArts Miami Gala committee included Jacomo Bairos, Germane Barnes, Chloe Berkowitz, Bill Contente, Naomi Fisher, Danielle & Greg Garno, Rosie Gordon-Wallace, Simon and Nikolai Haas, Alex & Carolyn Hurst, Sam Hyken, Michi and Charles Jigarjian, Richard and Amy Kohan, Steven and Oxana Marks, Glenda and Roberto Pedroso, Brynne McNulty Rojas and Julio Rojas, Sandra and Tony Tamer, Bruce and Ellie Taub, Tarin and Andrew Teno, Cornelius Tulloch, Randi Wolfson and Chris Adamo and Maurice Zarmati.

NOTABLEGALA CO-CHAIRS: Sarah Arison, Jeffrey Davis and Michael Miller, AlbertoATTENDEES:Ibargüen, and Craig Robins and Jackie Soffer.

ARTISTS AND ARCHITECTS: Anthony Abraham, Simi Ahuja, Leticia Bajuyo, Jacomo Bairos\*\*, Mario Cader-Frech, Robert Chambers, William Cordova, Carroll Dunham, Naomi Fisher\*, Marisa Fort, Rosie Gordon-Wallace\*, Denyce Graves, Nikki Haas, Rosie Herrera, Sam Hyken, Loni Johnson, Yashua Klos, Harmony Korine, Amani Lewis, Michael McElroy<sup>+</sup>, Rashaad Newsome, Lee Quiñones, Vernon Scott, Jean Shin<sup>+</sup>, Laurie Simmons, Ari Sklar, Zuzanna Szadkowski<sup>\*\*</sup>, Josué Thomas, Mickalene Thomas, Chat Travieso<sup>\*\*</sup>, and Cornelius Tulloch<sup>\*\*</sup>.

ARTISTIC DIRECTORS, CURATORS AND SCHOLARS: Silvia Cubiñá, Alex Gartenfeld, Nadege Green\*\*, and Dr. Joan Morgan\*. PHILANTHROPY, CULTURE AND BUSINESS LEADERS: Philip Aarons, Shelley Fox Aarons, Louis Aguirre, Chloe Berkowitz, Tracey Berkowitz, Jill Braufman, Jeff Citrin, Rona Citrin, Kimberly Cullen, Daniel de la Vega, Veronica Bilbao de la Vega, Danielle Garno\*, Cathy Leff, Steven Marks\*, Oxana Marks, Daniel Nir, Jon Paul Pérez, Cristina Pérez, Christopher Rim, Oti Roberts, Remi Roberts, Victoria Rogers\*, Joanne Rosen, Sandra Tamer\*, Tony Tamer, Bruce Taub, Ellie Taub, Robert Wennett, and Terry Zucker.

- \* Board Member
- \*\* YoungArts Award Winner
- <sup>+</sup>YoungArts Board Member and Award Winner
- WHERE: Faena Forum 3300-3398 Collins Ave Miami Beach, FL 33140
- WHEN: Saturday, January 13, 2024
- IMAGES: Images available here.
- ABOUT YoungArts—the national foundation for the advancement of artists—was established in 1981 by Lin and Ted Arison to identify exceptional young artists, amplify their potential, and invest in their lifelong creative freedom. YoungArts provides space, funding, mentorship, professional development and community throughout artists' careers. Entrance into this prestigious organization starts with a highly competitive application for talented artists ages 15–18, or grades 10–12, in the United States that is judged by esteemed discipline-specific panels of artists through a rigorous adjudication process.

For more information, visit youngarts.org, <u>Instagram</u>, <u>YouTube</u>, <u>Facebook</u>, or <u>Twitter</u>.

MEDIADave Adams, YoungArtsCONTACTS:dadams@youngarts.org / 305.377.1140 x 1308

Sara Ory, Polskin Arts sara.ory@finnpartners.com / 212.593.5815