Binge-Worthy TV Shows Featuring YoungArts Alumni

Monday Mar 23rd, 2020

Blog > Binge-Worthy TV Shows Featuring YoungArts Alumni

Whether you are looking to start a new series or rewatch a classic, here are some of our recommendations for binge-worthy shows featuring YoungArts alumni on screen and behind the scenes that you can stream right now.


Billy Porter (1987 Winner in Theater) and MJ Rodriguez (2010 Winner in Voice) star in the FX drama series about New York City's African-American and Latino LGBTQ and gender-nonconforming ballroom culture scene in the 1980s and early 1990s.
Where to stream it: Netflix

If you haven't already watched this critically acclaimed teen drama following a group of high school students as they navigate love and friendships in a world of drugs, sex, trauma, and social media—starring Hunter Schafer (2017 Winner in Design Arts) as Jules—you need to put this at the top of your list. 
Where to stream it: HBO GO/NOW

American Horror Story
For our horror-lovers, each season of this show is conceived as a self-contained miniseries, following a different set of characters, settings, and time periods starring Sarah Paulson (1993 Winner in Theater) in seasons 1–9, Finn Wittrock (2003 Winner in Theater) in seasons 4, 5, 6 and 9 and Matt Bomer (1996 Winner in Theater) in seasons 4–5.
Where to stream it: Hulu and Netflix 

This political drama series from Shonda Rhimes stars Kerry Washington (1994 Winner in Theater) as the main character, Olivia Pope. You can also catch Kerry in her latest series Little Fires Everywhere with new episodes each week on Hulu. 
​Where to stream it: Netflix

How to Get Away With Murder
In another Shonda Rhimes creation, Viola Davis (1983 Winner in Theater) stars as Annalise Keating, a law professor at a prestigious Philadelphia university who, with five of her students, becomes entwined in a murder plot.
​Where to stream it: Netflix

This New York-based comedy-drama follows a group of friends in their early 20s as they together try to make sense of what life has in store for them. It stars Andrew Rannells (1997 Winner in Theater), with guest appearances by Corey Stoll in season 5 (1994 Winner in Theater) and Zuzanna Szadkowski (1997 Winner in Theater & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) in season 4. Fun fact: Andrew and Zuzanna met at YoungArts and remain best friends to this day. 
Where to stream it: HBO GO/NOW

Single Parents
Taran Killam (2000 Winner in Theater) plays a member of a group of single parents who lean on each other to help raise their 7-year-old kids and maintain some kind of personal lives outside of parenthood in this family-friendly comedy.
Where to stream it: Hulu

Maya Erskine (2005 Winner in Theater) co-created and stars in this cringe comedy depicting teenage outcasts making their way through life in middle school.
Where to stream it: Hulu

Orange Is the New Black
Netflix's adaptation of the book of the same title was created by Jenji Kohan (1987 Winner in Writing) and stars Danielle Brooks (2007 Winner in Theater) and Kimiko Glenn (2007 Winner in Theater) as prisoners in a minimum-security women's prison.
​Where to stream it: Netflix

High School Musical: The Musical: The Series
A modern-day spin-off of the original musical teen movie phenomenon, the 2020 series features Joe Serafini (2016 Winner in Theater) as Seb, who gets a unique opportunity to play Sharpay in the drama club’s production of High School Musical: The Musical. He will be joined by fellow alumnus Roman Banks (2017 Winner in Theater) in season two as Howie, a hyper-smart high school junior who works at Big Red's family's pizza shop.
Where to stream it: Disney+

The Get Down
Justice Smith (2013 Winner in Theater) stars in this music-driven drama depicting the end of disco and the early days of hip-hop, set in New York City in the late 1970s. 
​Where to stream it: Netflix

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina
This adaptation of the Sabrina the Teenage Witch tale is a dark coming-of-age story that traffics in horror and the occult featuring Jaz Sinclair (2012 Winner in Theater).
​Where to stream it: Netflix

Steven Universe
This family-friendly animated series about a half-human, half-Gem hero who's learning to save the world with the magical powers that come from his bellybutton was created by Rebecca Sugar (2005 Winner in Visual Arts) and is Cartoon Network's first animated series to be created solely by a woman. 
​Where to stream it: Hulu and Cartoon Network

Marco Ramirez (2001 Winner in Writing & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) was a showrunner for this Marvel superhero adaption as well as The Defenders.
​Where to stream it: Netflix

Gossip Girl
Who doesn't love Dorota—played by Zuzanna Szadkowski (1997 Winner in Theater & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts)—in this classic teen drama following the lives of privileged high schoolers on the Upper East Side?  
​Where to stream it: Netflix

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend
This romantic musical comedy-drama stars Santino Fontana (2000 Winner in Theater & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) as Greg in seasons 1–2 and Donna-Lynne Champlin (1989 Winner in Theater & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) as Paula.
Where to stream it: Netflix

This haunting series follows the thrilling journeys of Dean and Sam Winchester, two brothers who face an increasingly sinister landscape as they hunt monsters. Sam is played by Jared Padalecki (2000 Winner in Theater).
​Where to stream it: Netflix and CW

13 Reasons Why
Michele Ang (2012 Winner in Theater & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts), Brandon Flynn (2012 Winner in Theater) and Keiko Agena (1991 Winner in Theater & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts) star in this teen drama based on the 2007 novel Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.
Where to stream it: Netflix

This show depicting a fictional, technologically advanced Wild West-themed amusement park populated by android "hosts" was co-created and executive produced by Lisa Joy (1995 Winner in Writing).
Where to stream it: HBO GO/NOW

The Magicians
Based on the novel of the same name by Lev Grossman, this Syfy fantasy series is co-created and executive produced by John McNamara (1980 Winner in Writing) and stars Hale Appleman (2004 Winner in Theater).
​Where to stream it: Netflix